Isaiah 30-32; 1 Corinthians 5

Therefore the LORD longs to be gracious to you, And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you. For the LORD is a God of justice; How blessed are all those who long for Him. ~Isaiah 30:18

Too busy to pray. Too busy not to pray.

I feel like the first statement is often true, but the more I walk with Christ, the more I realize the second statement is more true.

As Martin Luther said, “I have so much to do that I shall spend the first three hours in prayer.”

Three hours??? Yet, God waits for me to stop and spend that kind of time with Him. When I wonder why the days seem so rushed, so unfulfilled, so unprioritized, so out of balance, so predetermined, I really need to stop and pray. No, I don’t have time to spare, which is exactly why I must.

Otherwise, it’s too easy to try to trust in my own instinct, preparedness, calendars, texts, plans, and decisions. What if I really spent hours in prayer? How much would God cover before I even had to figure it out? Can I make that kind of bold step?

What about those prayers for salvation for lost loved ones? How genuine is my desire for their salvation if I pop their name on the end of an unrelated 15 minute prayer? How much do I really believe God will change them?

He longs to be gracious to us. He wants to answer. He wants to bless beyond all we could ask or imagine. Am I longing for Him? God is justice, but I need to get myself mentally prepared to recognize Him at work, not blinded by all this world has offered or put in place. Sitting at His feet, listening to His Word, watching Him move.

Lots of introspective questions as I read through these passages today. What is the focus of my faith? Does my daily agenda validate that?

Father God, I don’t come to You often enough or long enough, and I repent of that lack of priority in my own life. Please forgive me, and help me to keep removing those unproductive disruptions from my life and spending as much time in Your Word and prayer as I possibly can. Not neglecting the tasks you have for me to do, but first grounding myself so I can do them for Your glory. ~Amen.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians, Isaiah

Leave a Reply

