2 Chronicles 28, 2 Kings 17, Psalm 66, 1 Corinthians 7

This week has marked a huge milestone for me and our family. On Monday, I put all three of my three children on the school bus and waved good-bye. It’s the first time in 9 years that I have been home alone. It’s interesting how for so many years I have wished for the quiet time and being able to clean up and know things will stay clean for more than an hour and now I’m already floundering with what to do with my time. All summer I have known this day was coming and I have been thinking about who I am and what I should be doing with so many hours to kill. In my flesh I am ready to jump in and volunteer here and serve there filling up my days with things that will make me feel better or will make others feel happy. There’s nothing specifically wrong with either of those but I am quick to forget that God has planned great things in advance for me to do. How often I want to do my own thing or go my own way . I so often become a “slave of man” when I over schedule and over commit, leaving my own family to suffer. What will others think or expect of me now that I no longer have all the kids at home? For months I have thought about what other moms do once their kids go back to school. I’ve thought about what others expect of me. I’ve thought about all the big and great things I could do for the Lord during my days and then I read a passage like this:

1 Corinthians 7:17 “And don’t be wishing you were someplace else or with someone else. Where you are right now is God’s place for you. Live and obey and love and believe right there.”

I get caught up in the “great things” and forget the “God has planned” part. Instead of feeling lost and without purpose, I must continue trusting that He will reveal his plan to me at the right time. My husband is always reminding me that the day to day, ordinary things of life are really where God is calling me to be extraordinary. So whether it’s volunteering at the kid’s school or simply having a clean home and homemade cookies waiting at the end of the day, what’s important is remembering that he is in control. It’s not what can I do for him but what he has planned for me to do.

1 Comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians, 2 Chronicles, 2 Kings

One response to “2 Chronicles 28, 2 Kings 17, Psalm 66, 1 Corinthians 7

  1. amyctanner

    Thanks, I needed this. I have been thinking & praying on this too a lot. Tori is in afternoon Kindergarten. I want to enjoy this year without worrying about what I will do with myself next year. God keeps reminding me of Philippians 1:6…”He who began a good work in you will complete it”

Leave a Reply

