2 Kings 18-19; 2 Chronicles 32; Psalm 67; 1 Corinthian 9

This week’s 66 Books postings seem to have a theme— being intentional about how we follow Christ.  Kate started the week writing about the call to prayer and the desire to have her faith be reflected in the day’s agenda . Greg posted about how our daily decisions and  behavior affects not only us, but those around us. Kate and Amy expressed the desire to focus on following the call of God during a new season in their lives versus filling schedules with activity and distraction. Courtney has drastically changed the way her family eats for health reasons and sees the call to rededicate her own physical temple to God.

The point is this: we are intentionally saying “no” to something(s) in order to make room for more of God in our lives. Sometimes, that means self denial. The change can be initially disorienting, painful and even lonely. What worked yesterday isn’t always going to work today, but God is always there. Paul coaches us:

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefor, I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”  1Corinthians 9:24-27

So run well, my friends. Thank you for giving me a peek into your lives, so that I am encouraged when God wants to speak new things into my life. Thank you for encouraging me to lean hard into him and to not give up the race.

“May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us.” Psalm 67:1

klueh

2 Comments

Filed under 1 Corinthians, 2 Chronicles, 2 Kings, Psalms

2 responses to “2 Kings 18-19; 2 Chronicles 32; Psalm 67; 1 Corinthian 9

  1. What a great way to summarize the intentional living of a Christian! Thanks, Kathy, for focusing on the words of life that motivate us to press on.

  2. You have no idea the timeliness of this post as I was reading it this morning and drinking black coffee. Not putting milk and sugar in my coffee has gone from being novel to a big bummer this week, but your encouragement strengthens me to drink it like a winner. I’m printing this out and sticking it on my fridge–we’re all running races marked out for us. Let’s run hard, focused and for the win!

Leave a Reply

