2 Kings 20; Isaiah 38-40; Psalm 68; 1 Corinthians 11

Then God told Isaiah, “Go and speak with Hezekiah. Give him this Message for me, God, the God of your ancestor David: “I’ve heard your prayer. I have seen your tears. Here’s what I’ll do: I’ll add fifteen years to your life.” Isaiah 38:4-5 MSG

Hezekiah begged God to extend his life. God answered his prayer. Fifteen years seems like a lot of time and not enough time all at once. I’m not sure if I would want to know the number of days left that God has for me. But, if I did, would it cause me to be more intentional with how I live? I feel like the older I get the more aware I am of how quickly time passes. In a world where things are always changing, I’m thankful for a God who never changes.

The grass withers, the wildflowers fade, if God so much puffs on them. Aren’t these people just so much grass? True, the grass withers and the wildflowers fade, but our God’s Word stands firm and forever.” Isaiah 40:7-8 MSG

I went to see the movie The War Room this weekend. I took my 10 yr old daughter with me. After the movie, she asked me who my favorite character was. She said that hers was Miss. Clara, because she was funny. She was funny, but she was my favorite for a different reason. She loved Jesus and it shone through her eyes and life. She was unwavering in her faith. Most of all, she was a prayer warrior. She stood on God’s word. Prayer was not a last minute resort, it was her weapon. She went into her closet, her War Room to pray. Inside she had God’s word hanging on the wall surrounding her. She reminded me that I have an enemy of my soul and the power I have in Jesus’s name to pray against him. Sometimes I forget that prayer is an action.

Why would you ever complain, O Jacob, or, whine, Israel, saying, “God lost track of me. He doesn’t care what happens to me”? Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening? God doesn’t come and go, God lasts. He’s creator of all you can see or imagine. He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch His breath. And he knows everything, inside and out. He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts. For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall. But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and sour like eagles, They run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.” Isaiah 40:27-31 MSG

Dear Father, help me to see each day as a new gift from You. Thank you for the many answered prayers in my life. You are faithful. Thank you for the hope I have in You. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians, 2 Kings, 66 Books, Isaiah, Psalms

Leave a Reply

