Isaiah 41-44; 1 Corinthians 12

There are different kinds of spiritual gifts, but the same Spirit is the source of them all. There are different kinds of service, but we serve the same Lord. God works in different ways, but it is the same God who does the work in all of us. 1 Corinthians 12:4-6

I compare myself to others way more than is good for me. I do it for the everyday things, with my body type, how much I weigh, what I am wearing, how my hair and make-up (or lack of it) looks, etc. I do it with my possessions; is my car good enough? Is my house clean enough? Is my phone nice enough? I even do it with my kids – are they acting better or worse than the other kids around?

I have realized that sometimes I also compare gifting and talents; and rather than strengthening the areas that come natural for me, I focus more on what I wish I had.

I’m not sure why I waste my time in the comparison trap, maybe a subconscious desire to be better or maybe the enemy whispering in my ear that I am not good enough. Either way, I usually end up feeling horrible about myself, because inevitably I evaluate my worst when I am looking at someone else’s best; and I will never measure up in that equation.

The truth is that I need to change my focus completely. I need to turn away from thoughts of what I have or don’t have and how I compare to others; and I need to shift back to keeping my eyes on the source of everything. I need to put the emphasis back on God, my Creator, the One who made me as I am for a purpose in His plan.

“But you are my witnesses, O Israel!” says the lord.

“You are my servant.

You have been chosen to know me, believe in me,

and understand that I alone am God.

There is no other God—

there never has been, and there never will be.

I, yes I, am the lord,

and there is no other Savior…

“From eternity to eternity I am God.

No one can snatch anyone out of my hand.

No one can undo what I have done.”

The lord’s Promise of Victory. Isaiah 43:10-11; 13

I have been chosen to know God and to know that He is the Only Living God. I have been chosen to be in relationship with Him just as I am. I do not need to look to the right or to the left to see how I match up with someone else; I need to look straight into the Father’s eyes and see myself as He sees me.

I have called you back from the ends of the earth,

saying, ‘You are my servant.’

For I have chosen you

and will not throw you away.

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.

Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you and help you.

I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. Isaiah 41:9-10

I don’t need to be discouraged by what I think is lacking in my abilities, I need to trust that God loves me with an everlasting love, that He determined the who, what, when, where, why, and how of my destiny and I am perfect and well equipped for my call on this earth. I need to have faith that He will strengthen me in my weakness and that he will uphold me as I walk the path set before me. He has made me a testimony to His goodness and glory.

Yesappa, Thank You for choosing me for such a time as this. Thank You for always being there for me. Thank you for loving me perfectly. Help me keep my focus on You and not what surrounds me. Help me remember that You are my source and You will provide everything I need to walk in Your will. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

Blessings – Julie, Sholavandan, India (written in the U.S.A.)

 

Unless otherwise indicated, all Scripture quotations are taken from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

1 Comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Isaiah, New Testament, Old Testament

One response to “Isaiah 41-44; 1 Corinthians 12

Leave a Reply

