Isaiah 45-48; 1 Corinthians 13

Whenever my husband would ask me what I wanted for Christmas or my birthday, I would often recite, “A baby, a dog, a dehumidifier.”
After enough of playful hint dropping, I cornered him and asked point blank, “Can we get a dog?”

“I don’t want to pick up poop in the yard,” was his response.

With excitement, I filled out our application for a dog named Penelope.

We visited her at the rescue, and doubts started to hit me. She showed evidence of hard life. What would it be like having her here when the kids wanted a dog they could play with? This dog was afraid of her own shadow.

A friend at school rescued her dog ten years ago. She said to me, “You just love them. When does love fail?”

I really thought about that. She believed so plainly. Yet in a broken world with broken relationships and broken hearts, why did it seem like love wasn’t prevailing?

When I selected the dog tag for our Nella, I had it engraved upon the back–so that days when it seemed hard, I would look at it and her and remember:

Love never fails.  (1 Corinthians 13:8, NIV)

It’s almost three years later since we got our dog. She has gone from a rescued, frightened, underweight dog to a dancing, prancing, vegetable thieving joy.

DSC_0027Today, I’m reminded of this in 1 Corinthians 13. Love is such a big concept. I try to understand it in the hard places. I try to embrace it in the hard times. How can it be so deeply rooted in me and, at times, simultaneously snatched from my grasp?

12 Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

13 Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love. 1 Corinthians 13:12-13, NLT

I’m thankful for a God who knows me completely, who can make big promises, and for sister friends who remind me of them.

Thank you, Lord, for calling me your own and calling me to greater things. Thank you for your spirit in me to teach me and strengthen me during the hard situations.

Courtney (66books365)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

One response to “Isaiah 45-48; 1 Corinthians 13

  1. Love never fails. This is an absolute that we can all embrace!

Leave a Reply

