Isaiah 53-55; Psalm 128; 1 Corinthians 15

More than one Messianic Jew looks to Isaiah 53 as the first stepping stone toward their conversion, or the final bridge.

I know someone personally that shared how her friend (he is now her husband) asked her to listen to something from the Bible as he read. He read from Isaiah 53. He gently asked about whom she thought the passage spoke. She rolled her eyes and said, “Obviously it refers to Jesus the one you say is the Messiah. So?”

He showed her where he had read from and she couldn’t get saved fast enough. This prophecy written hundreds of years before Christ’s birth so clearly depicted Jesus’ life once she heard it on its own. It was so obvious when the power of Scripture opened her eyes to it.

Isaiah 55:11 says:

so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;

it shall not return to me empty,

but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,

and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.

The power of the Word is often forgotten in this modern age where we feel that we need showy services, attractive programs, and seeker friendly outreaches to draw in the unsaved and have any chance of their conversion. At our church this weekend we heard a powerful testimony that reminded us that God’s Word alone has the power to save. (Click here if you want to watch this story of God at Work) A former gang member became a Christian right in his jail cell as he simply read through the Scriptures. No one needed to explain it aside from the Holy Spirit. God’s Word would not return void.

I see it in my own life. My salvation came at an early age and I can’t necessarily say the Bible spoke to me personally much before that time, but throughout the 35 years since then you could probably graph how much time I’m in the Bible by the fruit seen in my daily walk. Why do I think I can grow without it? Why do I fall into seasons of neglecting that quiet time?

Thankfully, right now God has been faithfully calling each day and I’ve been hungry to respond, to start each day with Him. I’ve been swallowing huge chunks of Scripture each day and it is rich. Not that the days are easy or carefree by any means. I’m still this side of heaven after all. But, the perspective is life altering. Just like 1 Corinthians 15 wraps up, “58 Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

Lord, keep calling, keep growing me through Your powerful, written Word. ~Amen

Erin (6intow)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians, Bible in a year reading plan, Isaiah

Leave a Reply

