Nahum; Psalm 149; 2 Corinthians 9

It has been 10 months since my daughter died, and just within the last few months have I noticed a change in the comments from my closest family and friends…still gentle and sensitive to my needs as always. This change, however, has taken me off-guard from shouldering grief with the utmost care, fearful of blubbering incoherently in a conversation as I might do in private. I’ve ministered to other grieving families when they seem not to be ready to move forward, and yet their family and friends have moved on. I have felt sadness and helplessness to support those who seem lost on the painful journey of grief. It seemed injurious to try convincing them to step back into their former lives. Nahum 1:15 states, “Behold, on the mountains the feet of him who brings good news, who proclaims peace!” A good sentiment meant to point out good things to come.  Too early, and the encouragement will be rejected.

But today I heard the joyful sound of a friend’s voice telling me that peace will come out of this traumatic time. She may not have known, but her words were a call to obedience for me to praise God for what He plans to do. Praise to be sung in the company of other believers. Psalm 149:1-2 says “Praise the Lord! Sing to the Lord a new song,  And His praise in the assembly of the saints.”

This conversation reminded me that God is here with me and that He still has plans for me. I’m not sure how I would have received this message last month, last week, or even yesterday. Today, however, my heart was open to the belief that God will continue to direct my path, that He desires peace for me, and that He will provide all that I need to fulfill His plans.

Though I doubt my strength and courage most days, I am comforted knowing that many of my friends and family are prayer warriors  who lift me up to God. I am encouraged by what they hear God speaking.  The Apostle Paul testified the same when he said, “…while, through the proof of this ministry they glorify God for the obedience of your confession to the gospel of Christ, and for your liberal sharing with them and all men, and  by their prayers for you, who long for you because of the exceeding grace of God in you.”

My friend’s words remind me that there is nothing better for a child of God than to praise God for His salvation and peace, and in anticipation of His coming. What good tidings these are for this time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

