Jeremiah 1-4; Psalm 130; 2 Cor 9

From Jeremiah 2:

  • I remember the devotion of your youth,
        your love as a bride,
  • they went far from me,
    and went after worthlessness
  • went after things that do not profit.

Love Psalm 130 (all the Psalms of Ascent, really), want to quote the whole thing, but here from the closing verse:

For with the Lord there is steadfast love,
    and with him is plentiful redemption.

15 Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift! – 2 Corinthians 9:15

I sin, He saves.

I stray, He calls.

I stumble, He forgives.

I doubt, He remains.

I cower, He shields.

I wander, He calls.

I squander, He loves.

No matter how far I walk down the wrong path or how confused my thinking becomes, God’s constantness holds steady. His standard remains the same, my salvation secure, His forgiveness plentiful, my hope eternal.

Israel witnessed God’s redemption and power fighting on their behalf. Yet, when He didn’t meet their immediate needs, they began to look elsewhere and left their first love. With a passion they pursued God until things got either challenging or too comfortable. Either extreme drove them to look elsewhere. Instead of honoring God they sought after worthless things, unprofitable things.

I do the same. He paid a horrific price for my salvation. Yet, when He doesn’t resolve what I rationalize would be so easy for Him to fix, I question. Couldn’t He so easily heal this relationship, this illness, this situation? If God is as powerful as He has proven throughout history (both my own personal history and the history of the world), why doesn’t He change this now? The age old question, “Why do bad things happen to good people?” with a little twist. Similar to the question, “How does a good God allow suffering?”

The questions show our man-centric theology. Our salvation is not about us. Our worship and living is not about our personal gratification. All is an expression of an eternal, infinite God’s grace, mercy, love, and glory. In His graciousness He continues to teach, to grow us, to open our eyes to His infinitude. This world is not my home, I’m just passing through. One day we’ll see face to face and it will all fall into place.

Father God, You have been so patient this week as I’ve struggled, wrestled through Scriptures and prayers toward a deeper understanding of You. Thank you for gently teaching, quietly listening, and then responding profoundly through a myriad of encounters. Salvation and grace are truly an indescribably gift, and I humbly thank you all over again for doing that initial work nearly 40 years ago and continuing to sanctify me by Your truth, the only truth. In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

Erin (6intow)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians, 66 Books, Jeremiah, Psalms

Leave a Reply

