Ezekiel 13-15. Psalm 136, John 5

Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life. He does not come into judgment, but has passed from death to life.

Over that last several months our kids have been studying Jesus’ ministry and the times leading up to his crucifixion in their Sunday school class. No matter how many times I hear the scriptures, I am always learning something new or hearing something new that I haven’t heard before. One of the things that strikes me as so incredible about Jesus’ life and ministry is his dependency on the Father.

So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of his own accord, but only what he sees the Father doing. For whatever the Father does, that the Son does likewise.”

Because I see him as King of Kings and Lord of Lords I often forget that he was also human with human weaknesses and sufferings. But though he was given all authority and was fully God he was also fully human and submitted that authority over to his Father in heaven. He was strong enough, yet humble enough to lay down his own will and eventually his own life to submit to the Father.

From the time in the wilderness being tempted by Satan to the last night in the garden at Gethsemane, Jesus shows us where strength comes from. Throughout the gospels I am reminded over and over of how Jesus turns to God the Father in his human weakness and cries out to him.

“I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me.”

This is a great lesson for me to understand and share with my children. I am a very independent person. I like to do things on my own, work hard and be in control. I often rely on my own merits and take great pride in myself when I advance. I also find this rubbing off on my children. In some ways it is easier to stick to this method but in the end, it only leads to pride with success and self hatred and disappointment with failures. If I can instead follow Jesus’ lead and turn to my Father in each and every circumstance pride and self hatred become non existent. Instead, I abide in Him, do the will of my Father and can give Him all the glory. Of course, this is easier said then done. This has been an important realization and journey in my life and I am thankful it’s something the Lord revealed to me so that I can encourage my children early on to live their lives dependent on Him.

Jesus didn’t cry out for help or guidance just once but over and over. I must remember this is a process and is moment by moment, the big things and the small things.

Thank you Jesus for your incredible example of dependence on your heavenly Father. Please help me to trust in you and turn to you each and every moment and for each and every decision, not just the big ones.

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Leave a Reply

