Haggai; Zechariah 1; Psalm 138; 1 John 2

Even in this week set aside for giving thanks I have a hard time resonating with the Psalmist. In my season of unanswered prayer the thankfulness is a bit forced, the gratitude almost artificial.

Why is the provision, the transformation slow to come? Doesn’t God care?

My request is certainly far from selfish, but am I asking too much?

Much wrestling, much scripture meditation, much emotional prayer.

Keep reading, continued study.

Prayers change. Pastor James MacDonald reminds, “We ask for smoother paths when we should ask for stronger shoes.”

I know the theology, but do I believe it? In the times of Haggai they faced a fifteen year delay in the completion of the temple, but now it was time to again get to work. We don’t always know the reasons or have the advantage of a broader perspective on “delays” in our own lives, but God’s promises and admonitions can carry over just the same.

Haggai 2:4-5 says, “Be strong, all you people of the land, declares the Lord. Work, for I am with you, declares the Lord of hosts, according to the covenant that I made with you when you came out of Egypt. My Spirit remains in your midst. Fear not.

I just need to be faithful, keep working.

I John 2 reminds me where the reward is promised. Not this life, but the one to come. “And this is the promise that he made to us—eternal life.” And, a few verses later, “ And now, little children, abide in him, so that when he appears we may have confidence and not shrink from him in shame at his coming.

Christianity isn’t about the easy days. We like to soak up times of worship and blessing. Godly teaching and time in His Word loudly proclaim that He is with us, but sometimes our life events scream louder the lie that we’re all alone. It can appear to be a losing battle in this lifetime.

Choosing to listen to that still small voice. Choosing to set my gaze on Him. Choosing to work even when the working is hard. Choosing to believe the promises and their fulfillment in the life to come. You only live twice.

Dear Lord, thank for Your Word, so rich with promises. Thank you for wrestling with me through the questions and the struggles. Continue Your work in and around me – give us stronger shoes, steady faith, and continued perseverance. ~Amen

6intow (Erin)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Haggai; Zechariah 1; Psalm 138; 1 John 2

  1. kateredding

    Love this post. Thanks for sharing and for the reminder. Pray for sturdier shoes not smoother paths.

Leave a Reply

