Job 21-23, Psalm 101, Revelation 16

Back and forth, round and round they go. I have always had a hard time understanding the book of Job. Are his friends there to help or hurt? Is Job really a righteous guy or a selfish sinner? I think the answers to all of those questions are yes!
Boy can I relate to Job. One minute I am praising the Lord for his Sovereign hand and the next minute my selfishness rises up and takes over. It only takes one bad day or even a bad moment for my sinful and jealous heart to take over and look around for all the injustices in my life. I become self- righteous in my thinking- I’m a good person. I work hard to serve the Lord and do the right thing. Sometimes I even make sacrifices with my time, energy and resources and yet, there are so many around me who give nothing and still seem to prosper. And soon enough I find myself saying, like a spoiled child, “That’s not fair, Lord.” How many times do we sit in bitterness watching others prosper?

Like Job, how often do I feel justified in my own actions or thinking, secure in the works I have done? How often do I plead my own case and compare my deeds against others?

23 10-12 “But he knows where I am and what I’ve done.
He can cross-examine me all he wants, and I’ll pass the test
with honors.
I’ve followed him closely, my feet in his footprints,
not once swerving from his way.
I’ve obeyed every word he’s spoken,
and not just obeyed his advice—I’ve treasured it.” (The MSG)

And then, in my defense I compare my good deeds to others and ask the Lord why they are prospering while I am not!

21:17-21 “Still, how often does it happen that the wicked fail,
or disaster strikes,
or they get their just deserts?
How often are they blown away by bad luck?
Not very often.
You might say, ‘God is saving up the punishment for their children.’
I say, ‘Give it to them right now so they’ll know what
they’ve done!’
They deserve to experience the effects of their evil,
feel the full force of God’s wrath firsthand.
What do they care what happens to their families
after they’re safely tucked away in the grave? (The MSG)

Ultimately, my saving grace is Jesus. It’s knowing that the Lord God Almighty is sovereign over all. His plans are higher than mine. In Job’s own words, “He is singular and sovereign. Who can argue with him?”His sovereignty is hard to except when things are going all wrong in our lives or when our friends or family are prospering without trying. When the friend gets pregnant easily and we’ve been trying for years. When the sibling gets a new car while we are driving a beater. When your friend’s husband gets as promotion or your co-worker builds a brand new house in the neighborhood you’ve been looking at…. Like is not fair nor is is always something we can understand or comprehend but God knows!

We know from reading revelation that there will come a day when the wicked receive their due wrath. We can rest assured as believers in Jesus that each and every bad day is predetermined by the Lord. The next time I am sitting in my self-righteousness and self –pity as others prosper without trying, I need to remember Revelation 16:15 Behold, I am coming like a thief! Blessed is the one who stays awake, keeping his garments on, that he may not go about naked and be seen exposed.” Jesus is coming back. He will make all things right and my reward is secure in Heaven.

 

Thank you, Jesus for not having my same attitude. You gave up fairness and came to earth completely selfless, giving your love to us. You are the greatest give we don’t deserve but desperately need. Thank you and happy birthday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Job, Psalms, Revelation, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

