Genesis 16-18; Mark 6

“When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the Lord appeared to him and said, “I am El-Shaddai – God Almighty.” Genesis 17:1, NLT

I noticed something today as I was writing this post. People talk to me All Day Long. I didn’t even leave the house … and they were my people. This must happen every day. My family didn’t seem to act any different today than on other days. I suppose I’ve just become used to the constant chatter directed at me. Perhaps I am numb to it all.

Have I become numb to God’s voice as well? Have I unintentionally slipped away from listening for the voice of the one who appeared to Abram and announced himself as “El-Shaddai – God Almighty”? It seems I need to remind myself who it is that calls my name.

And the best place I know to look is Jesus. Throughout the gospels, I see in Jesus the power of the Almighty God at work. With this power, He reveals God as being bountiful and ready to bestow blessing on those who follow Him. Just a few examples are here in Mark 6.

When Jesus sends the twelve disciples to surrounding towns, I see Him pouring out kindness and love to those who have not yet been blessed by knowing Him.

“They went out and preached that people should repent. They drove out many demons and anointed many sick people with oil and healed them.” Mark 6:12-13, NIV

When Jesus feeds the five thousand, I see Him revealing both power and incredible generosity.

“Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke the loaves. Then he gave them to his disciples to set before the people.” Mark 6:41 NIV

I desperately need an Almighty God. I need a His generosity and abundance.  I need His love and compassion. I need forgiveness and blessings. I even need instruction and correction. I need a God so powerful that nothing is beyond Him.

The Lord is Almighty. And I will listen for His voice, even if it’s only a small soft whisper into my heart.

Dear Lord,   You are the one and only Almighty God. Thank you for revealing yourself through the life of Jesus. I so desperately need you. Train my ears to hear your voice above all others. Show me your Almighty hand at work in my life. Amen  

Diona

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

