Genesis 26-27; Mark 10

It’s a paraphrase, for sure.

The little children come running up to Jesus and want to hang out with him. Jesus blesses them.

***

The rich man sees Jesus and asks, “What can I do?” And Jesus says, “A, B, C, D.”

“Yeah,” the rich man says. “Did that.” He waits.

21 Looking at the man, Jesus felt genuine love for him. “There is still one thing you haven’t done,” he told him. “Go and sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” Mark 10:21, NLT.

Maybe a moment passes.

Then rich man walks away sad, because he can’t do that.

***

The blind begging man calls out for mercy.

51 What do you want me to do for you? Jesus asked.

“My Rabbi,” the blind man said, “I want to see!”

52 And Jesus said to him, “Go, for your faith has healed you.” Instantly the man could see, and he followed Jesus down the road. Mark 10:51-52, NLT.

***

Jesus tells the disciples that everything is possible with God.

Lord, I don’t even think I’m aware of it: how often I try-try-try and do-do-do. Could I get eternal life in my own good behavior? Could I restore my own vision? How often do I sit in the muck of circumstance asking, “What can I do?” I’m learning more and more to run to you and hang out with you. Even when the circumstances seem unchanged, I can be changed (blessed!) just in the time I spend with you. How is it that I know and I forget at the same time that everything is possible with you?

The salvation of a soul.

The restoration of sight.

Everything.

Courtney (66books365)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Mark, New Testament

2 responses to “Genesis 26-27; Mark 10

  1. Decided to start reading 66 Books again. I loved your devotional of the day. I needed it this week.
    Thank You,
    Dave

  2. Thanks for joining us this year, Dave! God bless you, friend.

    On Thu, Jan 14, 2016 at 6:34 AM, Sixty-six books in a year wrote:

    >

Leave a Reply

