Genesis 45-46; Psalm 108; Galatians 2

Come closer to me,” Joseph said to his brothers. They came closer. “I am Joseph your brother whom you sold into Egypt. But don’t feel badly, don’t blame yourselves for selling me. God was behind it. God sent me here ahead of you to save lives…He set me in a place as a father to Pharaoh, put me in charge of his personal affairs, and made me ruler of all Egypt.” Gen 45:4-8 MSG.

Reading these passages about Joseph and than Paul, brings to mind the video I watched of Pastor Saeed Abedini.  After being imprisoned for his faith for 3 years, he was landing on American soil. The thing that I was struck by the most was his prayer. He was praising Jesus and worshiping him. Not just for freeing him, but for who He is. I could imagine him praying this same prayer in prison. I truly got the sense that his faith didn’t depend on his circumstances. Like Joseph, he was not angry or bitter. Like Paul, his faith was not swayed.

They trusted in a God who is greater than their earthly pain. Do I?

Christ’s life showed me how, and enabled me to do it. I identified myself completely with him. Indeed, I have been crucified with Christ. My ego is no longer central. It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion, and I am no longer driven to impress God. Christ lives in me. The life you see me living is not “mine,” but it is lived by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I am not going to go back on that.” Galatians 2:18-21 MSG

I am reminded that God has a greater plan for my life that sometimes  can only happen through suffering. That He is Sovereign. Even when I  cannot  see the good.

My heart is confident in you, O God; no wonder I can sing your praises with all my heart!

I will sing your praises among the nations. For your unfailing love is higher than the heavens.

Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds. Be exalted, Oh God, above the heavens. May your glory shine over all the earth. Now rescue your beloved people. Answer and save us by your power.

Oh, please help us against our enemies, for all human help is useless.

With God’s help we will do mighty things, for he will trample down our foes.” Psalm 108 NLT

Dear Father, Thank you for these men and their testimony of faith. Even when it hurts, I pray that I would turn to You. Help me to remember that You work all things together for good. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Galatians, Genesis, Psalms

Leave a Reply

