Genesis 47-48, Psalm 25, Galatians 3

Now when Joseph saw that his father laid his right hand on the head of Ephraim, it displeased him; so he took hold of his father’s hand to remove it from Ephraim’s head to Mannasseh’s head. And Joseph said to his father, “Not so, my father, for this one is the firstborn; put your right hand on his head.” But his father refused and said, “I know, my son, I know. He also shall become a people, and he also shall be great; but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his descendants shall become a multitude of nations.” Gen 48:17-20 NKJV

Joseph was upset that his father was blessing his younger child. He tried to move his hand. Maybe he thought that his blind father had made a mistake? But, his father was clear that he was going to bless Joseph’s younger son first. How many times have I tried to control things with my own hands? Jumping ahead of what God has in store? Trying to change how things play out in my life? Instead of surrendering all to my Father, because he knows what is best? This is when I find that my eyes are on myself and not on God and His plans for my life. In these times I find myself in a tangled mess and the only way to get out is to look to Him.

My eyes are ever toward the Lord, For He shall pluck my feet out of the net. Turn Yourself to me, and have mercy on me, For I am desolate and afflicted. The troubles of my heart have enlarged; Bring me out of my distresses!” Psalm 25:15-17 NKJV

Thank you Father for the freedom that I have in You.

But that no one is justified by the law in the sight of God is evident, for “the just shall live by faith.”

There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus. And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.” Gal 3:11, 28-29 NKJV

I want to surrender all to You Lord.

To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul. O my God, I trust in You…Show me your ways, O Lord; Teach me You r paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation.” Psalms 25:1-5 NKJV

Amy(amyctanner)

from the archives, originally published 1/27/15

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

