Genesis 49-50; Galatians 4

Inheritance and legacy, big themes in these chapters. I read of Jacob’s last words to his sons.

I think on (all) these brothers, the men they’ve become.

Reuben, as unruly as a flood, and will be first no longer.

Zebulun, a harbor for ships.

Asher will dine on rich foods and produce foods fit for kings.

“Simeon and Levi are two of a kind;
    their weapons are instruments of violence.
May I never join in their meetings;
    may I never be a party to their plans.
For in their anger they murdered men,
    and they crippled oxen just for sport.
A curse on their anger, for it is fierce;
    a curse on their wrath, for it is cruel.
I will scatter them among the descendants of Jacob;
    I will disperse them throughout Israel. Genesis 49:5-7, NLT

A father knows his sons.

Jacob’s body is laid to rest in the land he designated. The brothers accompany Joseph back to Egypt. The brothers who sold him for dead. 15 But now that their father was dead, Joseph’s brothers became fearful. “Now Joseph will show his anger and pay us back for all the wrong we did to him,” they said. Genesis 50:15, NLT.

These are the words that comfort me today:

20 You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people. Genesis 50:20, NLT.

Words of a son who knows his Father.

I know this truth. I know that God redeems the lost time. I know that God is able to turn someone’s harmful intent into something good. All of it.

I know my Father.

And He knows me.

Courtney (66books365)

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Genesis

Leave a Reply

