Exodus 13-15; Psalm 114; Ephesians 3

Sometimes an enemy is right in front of you. Sometimes an enemy is in the heavenly places. But either way, God’s got this.

I heard a prayer over the weekend, how things might not look or go how we want them to, but that God’s got this and we can trust in him. He works things out in ways we don’t understand–for his glory.

“I have planned this in order to display my glory through Pharaoh and his whole army. After this the Egyptians will know that I am the Lord!” Exodus 14:4b, NLT.

I’m sure the Israelites never expected freedom to look like an army behind them and the Red Sea in front of them. I feel their panic. I hear their questions–a flooded brook of doubt, worry and regret emptying into an impossible sea.

13 But Moses told the people, “Don’t be afraid. Just stand still and watch the Lord rescue you today. The Egyptians you see today will never be seen again. 14 The Lord himself will fight for you. Just stay calm.” Exodus 14:13-14, NLT.

Just yesterday, I cracked the spine of Red Sea Rules by Robert J. Morgan. And today, God meets me at the shore; he makes a way of safe passage; he tells me he will fight for me.

“With your unfailing love you lead
    the people you have redeemed.
In your might, you guide them
    to your sacred home.” Exodus 15:13, NLT

He takes bitter waters and makes them clean.

It was there at Marah that the Lord set before them the following decree as a standard to test their faithfulness to him. 26 He said, “If you will listen carefully to the voice of the Lord your God and do what is right in his sight, obeying his commands and keeping all his decrees, then I will not make you suffer any of the diseases I sent on the Egyptians; for I am the Lord who heals you.” Exodus 15:25b-26, NLT.

He leans in and tells me to listen carefully to his voice. He finishes and says he will heal me.

Ephesians 3, I read.

10 God’s purpose in all this was to use the church to display his wisdom in its rich variety to all the unseen rulers and authorities in the heavenly places. 11 This was his eternal plan, which he carried out through Christ Jesus our Lord.

12 Because of Christ and our faith in him, we can now come boldly and confidently into God’s presence. Ephesians 3:10-12, NLT.

My week began with a prayer that God’s got this. And today, Paul’s prayer covers me too.

14 When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, 15 the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. 16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. 17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. 21 Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:14-21, NLT

Father, I’m grateful that I can approach you, come confidently into your presence. You are the God who catches my tears. You are the God who quiets my fears. You heal me. You love me. You fill me with fullness of life. Your mighty power is at work within me to accomplish infinitely more than I can ask or think. I praise you for who you are. You’ve got this. You’ve got me. My life and my heart are safe in your hands. There is no place I’d rather be.

Courtney (66books365)

(No compensation for mentioning Robert Morgan’s book Red Sea Rules.)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Ephesians, Exodus, Old Testament

One response to “Exodus 13-15; Psalm 114; Ephesians 3

Leave a Reply

