Exodus 16-18, Ephesians 4

Relationships are hard work. At least for me they are. And in my life there are certain long-term, unavoidable relationships that are just plain disappointing and hurtful.

I have recently been given an opportunity for reconciliation. It has become clear to me that God has placed it in front of me. And yet I have been given the choice – to take the opportunity or not.

Ephesians 4:31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.

Get rid of all bitterness? I have years of bitterness build-up. It’s like a clogged drained that keeps gathering junk. Just sitting there in my heart.

Ephesians 4:32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

Kind and compassionate. Through that huge clog of bitterness in my heart? I am going to need a whole lot of Jesus help with this.

Forgive. The unclogging agent, provided by Jesus. When I choose to forgive, as Jesus forgave me, I can let go of all the bitterness and let Jesus clean it all out. Only by His grace can that junk in my heart be swept out.

Ephesians 4:2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.

Humble, gentle, patient, and loving. Without the obstruction of bitterness, these can flow freely through my heart – from Jesus, through me, to others.

I choose reconciliation. I choose forgiveness and love. I know I can’t do this on my own. Only with power provided by the Holy Spirit. I praise God that He can.

Dear Lord, Thank you for putting the very words in front of me that I need today. Help me to let go of bitterness and anger. Grant me the strength to forgive. Help me be kind, compassionate, humble, gentle and patient. I know that only in your power and not my own. Amen

Diona

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Exodus 16-18, Ephesians 4

  1. I have been anything but kind, unforgiving and gentle this morning; I woke with bitterness as my companion. To quote my husband, “did you get up on the wrong side of the bed?” So thank you. God used you to hit the bull’s eye, get me on my knees and change my heart.

Leave a Reply

