Exodus 32-34; Philippians 3

Life is clean and clear when I am on my knees and quiet before God.  I ask God, “If it is true that you look favorably on me, let me know your ways so I may understand you more fully and continue to enjoy your favor.” Exodus 33:13. Then I get up and the day starts. Before I go, fear flickers and I pray with Moses:

“If you don’t personally go with us [me], don’t make us [me] leave this place. How will anyone know that you look favorably on me—on your people—if you don’t go with us [me]? For your presence among us sets your people and me apart from all other people on the earth.” Exodus 33:15-16.

I am beginning to feel my years. I don’t have the energy to fake it nor to endure the numerous distractions that entice me to join Alice down some rabbit hole.  I weary so easily. Paul understands this. He has been battered and beaten, yet continues to get back up and keep at it. What is it that gets him back up on his feet?

Focus on the truth. Focus on the reality of Christ Jesus and what he has already obtained for us.

“We rely on what Christ Jesus has done for us. We put no confidence in human effort.” Philippians  3:3

Good bye precious, ego, Good bye, pride.

“I once thought that these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. Yes everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.” Philippians 3:7

I am freed from the messiness of myself and my dependence on getting things right. I am free to focus on what is real and important:

“But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me…I focus on one thing: forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus is calling us.” Philippians 3:12…13.

Forgiven sinner that I am, I am Christ’s possession. This is my hope and my future. His work has been done for me. In confidence, I hold on to this and go into the day.

Klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Exodus, Philippians, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

