Leviticus 24-25; Psalm 81; Hebrews 9

God knows that I live in a material world, and it has never been his intention that I might be possessed by my possessions. His commands in Leviticus 24-25 work this out. Time, work, social position are gifts from God and are designed to be surrendered to Him. What is true for Israel is true for me. Repeatedly, God tells his people to fear and revere him. Who they are corporately and individually, everything within their possession is to be considered in the light of their relationship with Him, for “I am the Lord your God.” Leviticus 25:17, 38, 55.  Nothing is meant to be held onto permanently except for my relationship with God himself

God is the mother bird, swooping to the nest to drop the plump worm into the mouth of the baby bird who is all hunger and convinced that this is her last meal:

“I am the Lord your God. Open your mouth wide and I will fill it.” Psalm 81:1

How I identify with that forlorn and needy creature! But sometimes I take my eyes off of God and become convinced of my ability to survive without him. I join ranks with ancient Israel who “walk in their own devices.” And God cries out:

“Oh that my people would listen to Me, that Israel would walk in My ways! Those who hate the Lord would pretend obedience to Him, and their time of punishment would be forever. But I would feed you with the finest of the wheat and with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.” Psalm 81:12-16

God is not content to leave me in my willful wandering from him. The wonder of it is that Christ has made a way for me to return to the God’s warm embrace:

“For Christ did not enter a holy place made with hands, a mere copy of the true one, but into heaven itself, now to appear in the presence of God for us.” Hebrews 9:24.

So to home I return, not as a slave to my own sad idols, but as the very child of God who fills my every desire and hunger.

Klueh

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Hebrews, Leviticus, Psalms, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

