Joshua 14-17; Luke 17

Over the last few years, I have spent a fair amount of time in hospitals.  I am in the “sandwich generation,” that time when you are still caring for children and at the same time caring for aging parents.  I have waited, slept, cried and prayed next to bedsides and in waiting rooms.  So much uncertainty.  God whispering into my heart, “I’ve got this.”

Do I have the faith that Jesus can heal?  Absolutely.  I have been a witness to His healing power.  I could give examples from personal experience, but here is the one from today’s reading on healing the ten lepers:

When he saw them, he said, “Go show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were cleansed.  One of them, when he saw he was healed, came back, praising God in a loud voice.  He threw himself at Jesus’ feet and thank him – and he was a Samaritan.  Jesus asked, “Were not all ten cleansed?  Where are the other nine?  Was no one found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?”  Then he said to them, “Rise and go; your faith has made you well.” (Luke 17:14-19)

I praise God today.  I praise Him for His healing hand!  Just this week, it was the good news that cancer has been defeated in a loved one.

But I have even praised him that a time of suffering came to its end.  He knows when it is time to call one of His own home.  I miss my mother terribly but I am comforted that she is with Jesus.  I truly praise Him that she no longer has any pain.

Dear Lord, You are healer and comforter.  Thank you for assuring me in my times of need that you are in control.  Thank you for demonstrating Your magnificence through healing us in body and spirit.

Diona

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Joshua 14-17; Luke 17

  1. amyctanner

    My cousin’s 3yr old daughter has a cancerous brain tumor. They were told that there was nothing more the doctors could do, the radiaton didn’t shrink the tumor. So they brought her home. And the tumor shrunk & they don’t need hospice care anymore. There were lots of people praying. Miracles still happen today. Thanks for your post.

  2. We need a lot more inisghts like this!

Leave a Reply

