Joshua 18-21, Psalm 15, Luke 18

“Thus the LORD gave to Israel all the land that he swore to give to their fathers. And they took possession of it, and they settled there. And the LORD gave them rest on every side just as he had sworn to their fathers. Not one of all their enemies had withstood them, for the Lord had given all their enemies into their hands. Not one word of all the good promises that the LORD had made to the house of Israel had failed; all came to pass.” Joshua 21:43-45

 

Despite the fussing and fighting, the disobedience and the defiance, somehow, someway, Israel was finally taking procession of the Promised Land. If you have read anything in the bible previous to this you would know that this was clearly a gift. Certainly not because of their own merit or good works or obedience but simply because the LORD had promised them. This was a fulfillment of the promise the Lord made to the nation of Israel, dating all the way back to Abraham nearly 400 years in the past. What an incredible feeling it must have been physically to be given the inheritance but even more so spiritually.

 

This reminds me that the Lord keeps his promises. There is nothing I could do or not do to make him fulfill the promises he has made to me. They are based entirely on his character and his power and his love for me. If the Lord kept his promise to the nation of Israel, even though it took 400 years, then all the other promises in His Word are also true.

  • The Lord promises he will never leave me nor forsake me.
  • The Lord promises the plans he has for me are good and not for disaster but to give me a hope and a future.
  • The Lord promises that I am at my strongest when I am weak
  • The Lord promises to supply all my needs according to his riches, which have been given to me in Christ.
  • The Lord promises that nothing can ever separate me from God’s love.

The fact that his promises are tried and true and unchanging simply blows my mind. I am a performer at heart and want to work hard for my God. But his promises are not based on my good works. Praise the Lord!

Lord, thank you a thousand times over that you are who you say you are and you will do what you say you will do. You have proven you are trustworthy and you fulfill your promises. May I be reminded daily of all you have done for me and see you how truly amazing you are! Amen.

Below is a clip from a ladies conference. These truths are rooted in the promises God has made to Christ followers.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

