Joshua 22-24; Psalm 116; Luke 19

When Jesus came by, he looked up at Zacchaeus and called him by name. “Zacchaeus!” he said. “Quick, come down! I must be a guest in your home today.” Luke 19:5 NLT

I was thinking back on Kathy’s post from March 25, “I don’t need to scrape and fight to be noticed by God or man. I don’t have to prove my significance. God sees me in the crowd.” I’m sure that Zacchaeus felt overlooked, but Jesus saw him. He sought him out. Even though he felt unworthy… Jesus entered his house and his heart changed. Jesus showed him mercy.

Sometimes I think mercy is for others, but mercy is for me.

So many times, I think I have to have it all together before I can enter into His presence. Instead of admitting my need for him, I try to do things in my own strength. I don’t have to scramble to “clean up” before I invite Him in. He wants to come into my vulnerable places. He knows my weakness and loves me anyway. He longs to be with me. He bends down to hear my prayers.

I love the Lord because he hears my voice and my prayer for mercy. Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath! Death wrapped its ropes around me; the terrors of the grave overtook me. I saw trouble and sorrow. Then I called on the name of the Lord: “Please, Lord, save me!” How kind the Lord is! How good he is! So merciful, this God of ours!” Psalm 116:1-5 NLT

What if Jesus was a guest in my house? Is His presence felt now?

So fear the Lord and serve him wholeheartedly. Put away forever the idols your ancestors worshiped when they lived beyond the Euphrates River and in Egypt. Serve the Lord alone. But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 24:14-15 NLT

Dear Jesus, thank you for meeting me where I am at, but not wanting to leave me there. Thank you for pursuing me. For giving me hope. For always being with me. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua, Luke, Psalms

Leave a Reply

