Ruth 1-2; Acts 3

My day started with “Good Morning America.”  I was tired and in my tiredness I gave in to temptation … the temptation to turn from God rather than turn to God.  This was supposed to be my quiet time, my 30-60 minutes in the morning that I spend with God studying the Bible, praying and meditating on Him.

I am not saying that watching “Good Morning America” is bad.  The problem for me is that today I chose to spend the time set aside for God in another way.  Today I really needed that time with God.

God whispered something into my heart later in the day.  It was just an impression, a thought, that I would have rested well had I spent my morning quiet time with Him.

Then He sent me a verse:

“Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord, and that he may send the Christ, who has been appointed for you – even Jesus.” (Acts 3:19-20)

Some scholars believe that the time of refreshing referred to here will occur when Christ returns.  While I am not a fan of pulling a verse out of context, I think that God was tapping me on the shoulder.  I do believe that God provides refreshment through the Holy Spirit to His beloved children in this age. This verse reminds me to turn to Him for true refreshment.

I know, and yet I forget, that I find rest in His presence.  I am refreshed by connecting with Him.

Thank you Lord, for your loving reminders that You are what is best for me.  You refresh my heart.  You provide a restful place for my soul.   

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Acts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

