Ruth 3-4, Psalm 37, Acts 4

“Now when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, and perceived that they were uneducated, common men, they were astonished and they recognized that they had been with Jesus. But seeing the man who was healed standing beside them, they had nothing to say in opposition. But when they had commanded them to leave the council, they conferred with one another, saying, “What shall we do with these men? For that a notable sign has been performed through them is evident to all inhabitants of Jerusalem, and we cannot deny it.” Acts 4:12-16

 

Two Wednesdays ago I finally stood on a stage and gave my testimony. It was two and a half years in the making. It wasn’t my testimony of coming to faith but of what the Lord had done in my life. I knew the day would come. I knew the Lord was calling me to speak up but there was something holding me back. This past September I had written my name down on a list putting my offer out there to share but I still didn’t write anything down. In January of this year, I received the call to take me up on my offer. The voice on the other line gave me the details: 8-10 minutes on March 30th. I even thought to myself, “Wow, Lord! I have another two months to get this written down. What a blessing.”

On March 20th, I finally sat down to write my story. Why was I putting it off so much? Why couldn’t I sit down and put to paper the story God had given me? I knew he had been calling me to do this for months but I was hesitant, disobedient, fearful.

Would I do the story justice?

Would I communicate in a way that people would clearly see this was God’s story?

Would I remember all the important details of His story?

Would he give me the words to say?

Would people see Jesus in my story?

Would they believe it?

When the story is so big there are often doubters. Nay-sayers who chalk your experience up to coincidence. They hear and don’t believe. I have heard it in the past, “Oh, you were so lucky.” Or “Wow the doctors really put you back together.” Each time I hear those words I long for them to clearly see the truth! I was hesitant to write and share my story because of the reaction I may or may not receive. But I am not responsible for the reaction, I am responsible to respond in obedience when he calls.

So on March 20th, I prayed for help and began putting to paper the story God had been writing. As I typed, the words flowed freely and the story came together. I knew the Lord was writing the words on the page when I looked down and saw 10,000 words in just a couple of hours!

I shared my story at my weekly bible study meeting with about 250 people.  I was prepared, excited and nervous but as I stepped onto the stage my jitters were gone. I had peace and confidence, and a boldness in my voice and in my heart I knew wasn’t of me. I was reminded that when the Holy Spirit moves, none can deny it. It is up to Him to change hearts and open eyes and ears. I will continue to write and share as long as the Lord gives me opportunities.

 

Sweet Lord, thank you for the opportunity to share what you have done in my life. Holy Spirit, thank you for the power and the boldness to speak clearly without fear. And now, Lord, grant your servant to continue to speak your work with all boldness through the name of your Holy Servant, Jesus.

Side Note: Psalm 37 was texted to me on the morning of one of my follow up appointments at shock trauma. I love how the Lord weaves His story and plans our steps.

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

