1 Samuel 1-2; Psalm 120; Acts 5

Hannah was in deep anguish, crying bitterly as she prayed to the Lord. And she made this vow: “O Lord of Heaven’s Armies, if you will look upon my sorrow and answer my prayer and give me a son, then I will give him back to you.” 1 Samuel 1:10 NLT

I can relate to Hannah’s desire to have a child. After having two miscarriages we had a healthy baby boy. I remember making dinner the night before my sonogram. Praying for good results, while listening to the song, More than Enough. I desperately wanted everything to be fine, but I was claiming to myself that no matter what happened…Jesus was more than enough. And he would carry me through, like he already had.

I am the very woman who stood here several years ago praying to the Lord. I asked the Lord to give me this boy, and he has granted my request. Then Hannah prayed: “My heart rejoices in the Lord! The Lord has made me strong. Now I have an answer for my enemies; I rejoice because you rescued me. No one is holy like the Lord! There is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God…He lifts the poor from the dust and the needy from the garbage dump. He sets them among princes, placing them in seats of honor. For all the earth is the Lord’s, and he has set the world in order.” 1 Samuel 1-2 NLT

As I think back, I am grateful for his hand in the trials in my life. This song, “All of have in you, is more than enough,” still rings true today. “You are my supply, my breath of life.” Sometimes my prayers were for a changed heart. Maybe God was using them to change mine. To show me that my helper, the Holy Spirit was with me all along. Helping me to remember his faithfulness, when I would forget. Guiding me what to pray, when I couldn’t pray anymore.

But Peter and the apostles replied, “We must obey God rather than human authority. The God of our ancestors raised Jesus from the dead after you killed him by hanging on the cross. Then God put him in the place of honor at his right hand as Prince and Savior. He did this so the people of Israel would repent of their sins and be forgiven. We are witnesses of these things and so is the Holy Spirit, who is given by God to those who obey him.” Acts 5:29-32 NLT

Father, I pray the I would continue to let your Holy Spirit work in me. I pray that I wouldn’t be held back by fear or doubt. Thank you for your faithfulness in my life. Amen.

I took my troubles to the Lord; I cried out to him, and he answered my prayer.” Psalm 120:1 NLT

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel, Acts, Psalms, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

