1 Samuel 18-19; 1 Chronicles 3; Psalm 59; Acts 13

I have an enemy.  All who place their faith in Jesus have an enemy.

I see in today’s readings the work of the enemy of God:

  • He worked through Saul to try to kill David. (1 Samuel 18-19)
  • He worked through a sorcerer to try to keep a man (the proconsul) from faith in Jesus. (Acts 13:6-12)
  • He worked through unbelieving Jews to try to stop Paul and Barnabas from telling people about Jesus. (Acts 13:49-52)

More significantly, I see that God is victorious.  Each and every time God wins:

  • Because the Lord is with David, he eludes Saul’s attacks and is successful in battle. (And we know he eventually becomes king.)
  • Through the power of the Holy Spirit, Paul blinds the sorcerer. The proconsul believed.
  • Despite the persecution of Paul and Barnabas, many believed. “And the disciples were filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit.” (Acts 13:52)

The evil that is the enemy of God tries so hard to thwart me.  He is so sneaky I hardly even recognize his work.  I am reminded today to be vigilant.

As I recognize the efforts of my enemy, I am reminded to cry out to God as the psalmist does:

“Oh my Strength, I watch for you;

You, Oh God, are my fortress, my loving God.” (Psalm 59:9)

As I am filled with the knowledge that my God is always victorious, I am reminded to worship God as the psalmist does:

“Oh my Strength, I sing praise to you;

You, Oh God, are my fortress, my loving God.”  (Psalm 59:17)

Dear God, You are Conquerer.  Only through Your almighty power can the enemy be defeated.  Thank you for loving me.   

Diona

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

