1 Samuel 21-22; 1 Chronicles 15; Psalm 52; Acts 15

So David escaped from Saul and went to King Achish of Gath. But the officers of Achish were unhappy about his being there. “Isn’t this David, the king of the land?” they asked. “Isn’t he the one the people honor with dances, singing, ‘Saul has killed his thousands, and David his ten thousands’?” David heard these comments and was very afraid of what King Achish of Gath might do to him. So he pretended to be insane, scratching on doors and drooling down his beard.” 1 Samuel 21:10-13 NLT

I see David in his weakness.  Pretending… taking his focus off of God.

Later David went to Mizpeh in Moab, where he asked the king, “Please allow my father and mother to live here with you until I know what God is going to do for me.” So David’s parents stayed in Moab with the king during the entire time David was living in his stronghold. One day the prophet Gad told David, “Leave the stronghold and return to the land of Judah.” So David went to the forest of Hereth. 1 Samuel 22:3-5 NLT

David seemed to be relying on his own strength and fleeing to his stronghold out of fear. He waited to see what God would do next, instead of trusting him in the process. He was hesitant to step out in faith, before he could see the bigger picture. How many times have I done the same thing? Instead of saying, “God, I trust you,” I try to figure it out on my own. But, sometimes I rush ahead of his plans, when I really need to wait on him and his timing.

They cried out to God during the battle, and he answered their prayer because they trusted in him.” 1 Chronicles 5:20 NLT

I am reminded that he is always working, even when I can’t see it. I need to be fervent in prayer.

Afterward I will return and restore the fallen house of David. I will rebuild and restore it so that the rest of humanity might seek the Lord.” Acts 15:16&17 NLT

Dear Father, help me to trust you in the midst of whatever life brings.  Relying on your power and not my own. Give me discernment to know when you are leading me or telling me to wait. But, help me to remember that you can use me in my weakness. Amen.

But I am like an olive tree, thriving in the house of God. I will always trust in God’s unfailing love. I will praise you forever, O God, for what you have done. I will trust in your good name in the presence of your faithful people” Psalm 52:8-9 NLT

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Chronicles, 1 Samuel, Acts, Psalms

Leave a Reply

