2 Samuel 21-23; Psalm 18; Romans 3

If I were to tell my testimony, I believe these words from Psalm 18 (this Psalm is also included in 2 Samuel 22 interestingly enough) would be part of what I would say. I knew God existed; I believed everything I had ever learned about Him. He was out there somewhere, although certainly not part of my life.  Oh, I called on Him when there was something bad going on; other than that I was living my life just fine.  Or so I thought until it all came crashing down around me!  All of a sudden, my life was a mess—too many bad choices caught up with me.  I was in a pit deeper than I could ever get out on my own.

In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears. (NIV)

There were times along the way I believe God was warning me of the trouble ahead, but I didn’t want to hear what He had to say. I wanted to do things my way, I wanted what I wanted.  So He allowed me to go my way.  I laugh sometimes because I imagine Him saying, “You go ahead baby girl!  I’ll be at the other end to pick you up when you get there!”  And He was!

16He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters. 17 He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. 18 They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support. 19 He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me. (NIV)

Those “foes” were mighty and had a powerful grip. Letting go was not easy “but the LORD was my support.”  Getting to that place where I finally understood and believed “he rescued me because he delighted in me” made all the difference in breaking free.  God has been so faithful to me through the years since he pulled me from that place of darkness.  He has taught me so much through His word, through people, and through His presence.  Having Jesus as Lord of my life has changed it.  All I needed to do was surrender to Him!  My life is so much better with Him in charge.

20 God made my life complete when I placed all the pieces before him. (The Message)

I had to give Him everything—after all, He gave everything for me!

49 Therefore I will praise you, Lord, among the nations; I will sing the praises of your name.

Heavenly Father, there are times I shudder to think where I would be today without your saving grace. We, like David, have reason to worship you, to sing and dance before you in great joy.  Your fierce love for us is unfathomable, undeserved, yet unending.  One day we will join with all the saints in a heavenly chorus praising your holy name and the name above all names, Jesus. Oh what a glorious day that will be!  It is in His name I pray. Amen

Cindy (gardnlady)

1 Comment

Filed under 2 Samuel, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Psalms, Uncategorized

One response to “2 Samuel 21-23; Psalm 18; Romans 3

  1. You’ve written my life story, too! God, you are mighty to save and full of lovingkindness!

Leave a Reply

