2 Samuel 24; 1 Chronicles 21; Romans 4

20 Abraham never wavered in believing God’s promise. In fact, his faith grew stronger, and in this he brought glory to God. 21 He was fully convinced that God is able to do whatever he promises. 22 And because of Abraham’s faith, God counted him as righteous. 23 And when God counted him as righteous, it wasn’t just for Abraham’s benefit. It was recorded 24 for our benefit, too, assuring us that God will also count us as righteous if we believe in him, the one who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead. 25 He was handed over to die because of our sins, and he was raised to life to make us right with God. Romans 4:20-25, NLT.

Summer five yearsIMG_0893 ago, we were preparing to move. We were preparing to move to a house that God told us about. A year of waiting and wondering, it was about to become our “home sweet home.” That summer, my kids attended a local VBS. A craft that one of my girls made there is on my refrigerator, still, as a  reminder of God’s faithfulness, trustworthiness and sovereignty–delivered to me by the sweet hands of my child. But I don’t need a magnet to tell me of these things. His Word is full of promises kept, and our lives are full of them too.

I remember a summer cookout with friends. I was in the pool, and my youngest slid down the slide into my arms, where I caught her. Over and over again.

“Each time she slides down and you catch her, you are building up her trust in you,” a friend observed. I never thought of it that way.

When difficulties come, and they do, it helps to remember the times that God caught me. Or to remember the times God did what he said he’d do in his word–times recorded for our benefit and his glory.

Thank you, Lord. You are faithful, you are trustworthy, you are sovereign–and it means everything.

Courtney (66books365)

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

