1 Chronicles 22-25; Psalm 78; Romans 5

I really enjoy receiving a good gift.  I appreciate the thoughtfulness of the person who gave me the gift.  I feel loved when someone takes the time to choose something especially for me.  Recently, my husband gave me a wonderful gift to celebrate Mother’s Day.  He gave me a new purse – it is the perfect shape and size, in a gorgeous color, with zippers in all the right places. I use it all day, every day.

But I don’t use every gift that I receive in the same way.  Like the pretty dishes that are packed away in the basement.  I pull them out a few times a year and then back in the basement they go.

I accepted both gifts, but what I do with them is totally different.

Today’s reading got me thinking … What do I do with God’s gift to me?

“For if, by the trespass of one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ.” Romans 5:17 (NIV)

I have accepted God’s gift of righteousness and received God’s abundant provision of grace. But, do I cherish this gift all day, every day?  Is God’s grace on display so that others can see it?  How do I respond to God’s gift of forgiveness?

God chose this gift especially for me.  That is how much He loves me.  In fact, He chose this perfect gift for every person who will receive it.

“And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.”  Romans 5:5 (NIV)

Dear God, Thank you for your gift of salvation.  Help me to always cherish this gift.  I want others to see what it is like to live in right relationship with you.  Show me how to reflect your loving grace.  Amen

Diona

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Romans, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

