Proverbs 22-23; Psalms 117; 1 Thessalonians 1

Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.” Proverbs 22:6 NLT

My oldest son just turned 13. My husband wanted to do something special to mark this important milestone in his life. He gathered a few older, wiser men that are important in my son’s walk with the Lord. They each took turns walking on a trail with him and speaking into his life. Than they all gathered around him and prayed for him. He will also have letters from each of them to save and look back on. As his mom, I am grateful for these Godly men in my son’s life. And even more grateful that he is humble and desires their wisdom.

Listen to the words of the wise; apply your heart to my instruction. For it is good to keep these sayings in your heart and always ready on your lips. I am teaching you today-yes, you-so you will trust in the Lord. I have written thirty sayings for you, filled with advice and knowledge.” Proverbs 22:17-20 NLT

Commit yourself to instruction; listen carefully to words of knowledge.” Proverbs 23:12 NLT

I think about my own life and the friends/mentors that God has given me. They have helped me get back on the path when I strayed. Or when I came to a crossroads and didn’t know which way to go. They spoke truth into my life when I needed it the most. There have been times when I had to be vulnerable and reach out to them. This is scary, because sometimes its hard to admit my weakness. But, I am so thankful that I did. It is a reminder to me to teach my kids to reach out to others and live in community. To press in to God and others when it might feel more safe to pull back.

And now the word of the Lord is ringing out from you to people everywhere, even beyond Macedonia and Achaia, for wherever we go we find people telling us about your faith in God.” 1 Thessalonians 1:8 NLT

Dear Father, I pray that my heart will stay pliable to Your teaching. I pray that I would keep a soft heart so that I can hear your truth more clearly. Thank you for your faithfulness. Amen.

Praise the Lord, all you nations. Praise him, all you people of the earth. For his unfailing love for us is powerful; the Lord’s faithfulness endures forever. Praise the Lord!” Psalm 117 NLT

Amy(amyctanner)

1 Comment

Filed under 1 Thessalonians, Proverbs, Psalms

One response to “Proverbs 22-23; Psalms 117; 1 Thessalonians 1

  1. juliet2912

    I love this. I hope that I can make sure that my son the same kind of “right of passage” when he is 13.

Leave a Reply

