Proverbs 26-28; 1 Thessalonians 3

A year ago, we were dealing with a daughter’s health issues. A year ago, I didn’t realize she was two weeks from hospitalization. A year ago, I had no idea she would receive a diagnosis that was a lifetime sentence. And that was just the beginning of what the year would hold.

A year later, I sat at a table across from a woman who was selling me textbooks. The books sat stacked off to the side. She was a fellow innie, so we easily sailed through the niceties and entered into meaningful conversation. We had both experienced a redirection in the past year. I soaked up her words like a sponge.

I could relate to things she was saying. I felt a heart connection to her experiences. She was honest and vulnerable and so real. As I listened to her story, I loved her even more. I felt rejuvenated and refreshed by her words and her encouragement.

When I read of Timothy in 1 Thessalonians 3, I think of her and our time together that day.

and we sent Timothy to visit you. He is our brother and God’s co-worker in proclaiming the Good News of Christ. We sent him to strengthen you, to encourage you in your faith, and to keep you from being shaken by the troubles you were going through. But you know that we are destined for such troubles. Even while we were with you, we warned you that troubles would soon come—and they did, as you well know. 1 Thessalonians 3:2-4, NLT.

The books? She gave them to me. I never imagined what that day would hold, and I’ll never forget–and not just her generosity, but the healing her words held.

12 And may the Lord make your love for one another and for all people grow and overflow, just as our love for you overflows. 13 May he, as a result, make your hearts strong, blameless, and holy as you stand before God our Father when our Lord Jesus comes again with all his holy people. Amen. 1 Thessalonians 3:12-13, NLT.

Father God, thank you that at the right times, you send encouragement, strength and healing. Thank you for sisters in Christ who love by example, overflowing.

Courtney (66books365)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Thessalonians, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

