1 Kings 8; Psalm 30; 1 Timothy 3

I will exalt you, Lord, for you rescued me. You refused to let my enemies triumph over me. O Lord my God, I cried to you for help, and you restored my health. You brought me up from the grave, O Lord. You kept me from falling into the pit of death. Sing to the Lord, all you godly ones! Praise his holy name. For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime! Weeping through the night, but joy comes in the morning. When I was prosperous, I said, “Nothing can stop me now!” Your favor, O Lord, made me as secure as a mountain. Then you turned away from me, and I was shattered.” Psalm 30:1-7 NLT

Psalm 30 means a lot to me. It helps me to remember how far God has brought me. And the many pits I’ve fallen into that he has helped me out of. But, just like David, I can be so forgetful. I fall into the trap of thinking I can handle things on my own. But, that robs me of the peace that only God’s presence can bring. Because, like my pastor said in a sermon…“His presence is better than my freedom.” This convicts me and my wandering heart. Sometimes I have to cry out to him like David did.

I cried out to you, O Lord. I begged the Lord for mercy, saying. “What will you gain if I die, if I sink into the grave? Can my dust praise you? Can it tell of your faithfulness? Hear me. Lord, and have mercy on me. Help me, O Lord. You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy, that I might sing praises to you and not be silent. O lord my God, I will give you thanks forever!” Psalm 30:8-12 NLT

Dear Father, thank you for the the times that you have rescued me. I pray that I would remember your faithfulness, so that I don’t turn back to my old ways. Thank you for meeting me where I am and never leaving me. Amen.

Then Solomon stood before the altar of the Lord in front of the entire community of Israel. He lifted his hands toward heaven, and he prayed, “O Lord, God of Israel, there is no God like you in all of heaven above or on the earth below. You keep your covenant and show unfailing love to all who walk before you in wholehearted devotion. You have kept your promise to your servant David, my father. You made that promise with your own mouth, and with your own hands you have fulfilled it today.” 1 Kings 8:22-24 NLT

Amy (amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Kings, 1 Timothy, Psalms

Leave a Reply

