1 Kings 15; 2 Chronicles 13-14; Titus 3

Do not get involved in foolish discussions about spiritual pedigrees or in quarrels and fights about obedience to Jewish laws. These things are useless and a waste of time. If people are causing divisions among you, give a first and second warning. After that, have nothing more to do with them. For people like that have turned away from the truth, and their own sins condemn them.” Titus 3:9-11 NLT

Last Saturday morning I went to a memorial service for my friend’s mom. My friend’s extended family lives in Africa, so she was not able to be there when her mom died. We had a small, peaceful memorial service for her mom next to a lake. The pastor said that my friend’s mom often used the word Unity. I can see this in my friend’s life, as she raises her four girls in a country that is foreign to her. And teaches them to love Jesus…worshiping God through her pain.

Asa did what was pleasing in the Lord’s sight, as his ancestor David had done… Asa’s heart remained completely faithful to the Lord throughout his life.”1 Kings 15:11&14 NLT

Will it be said of me, like Asa, that my heart remained completely faithful to the Lord?

But as for us, the Lord is our God, and we have not abandoned him…Then Asa cried out to the Lord his God, “O Lord, no one but you can help the powerless against the mighty! Help us, O Lord our God, for we trust in you alone. It is in your name that we have overcome this vast horde. O Lord, you are our God; do not let these men prevail against you!” 2 Chronicles 13:10 & 14:11 NLT

The word unity, is one I have been hearing a lot lately. Sometimes I can get too familiar with it, that I forget that’s what Jesus calls me to. I think about how easy it is for me to get pulled into the world’s ways. I need to rely on His power to look past my earthly vision and preconceived notions, into someone’s heart. When I think too highly of myself, I need to remember where He has brought me from. Like Asa, cry out to Him to save me.

When God our Savior revealed his kindness and love, he saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He washed away our sins, giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit. He generously poured out the Spirit upon us through Jesus Christ our Savior. Because of his grace he declared us righteous and gave us confidence that we will inherit eternal life.” Titus 3:5-8 NLT

Dear Jesus, help me to love others like you love them. To show kindness instead of hate…turn the other cheek… pray for my enemies. I give you all the glory. Amen.

Amy (amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Kings, 2 Chronicles, 66 Books, Titus

Leave a Reply

