2 Chronicles 29-31; 1 Corinthians 8

Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.  If someone thinks he knows something, he does not yet know to the degree that he needs to know.  But if someone loves God, he is known by God..  (1 Corinthians 8:1b-2 NET)

The start of a new school year:  new pencils, new notebooks, gel pens in 48 different colors.  The quest to learn something new.  I get excited about great books and complicated math problems.  I admit I am a bit of a nerd.

I have two teenagers off to high school this year.  My other two kids are starting a new adventure of learning at home.  At this time of year, we have fresh minds and eager hearts.

The verses in Corinthians 8 remind me that I can fill their minds, but I must not neglect their hearts.  I want my children to become wise and not arrogant.  I want my children to love to learn and to love other people even more.  I want them to love God.

I know that pursuing truth is pursuing God, for God is the author, the creator, of all truth.  Educating myself and educating my children can be a form of worship.  When we learn a new truth, when we discover something beautiful, we learn something about God.  When we discover one night that Saturn, Mars and Antares are aligned as a perfect isosceles triangle, we gaze in awe at the work of the Creator.

Dear Lord, I want to continually pursue you.  Let me always be amazed by your creation. Grant us open minds to learn more about you and the world you created.  As we learn new things, help us to remain humble.  But above all, teach me how to love my children.  Help me show them how to love each other and to love those around us.   

Diona

1 Comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians, Uncategorized

One response to “2 Chronicles 29-31; 1 Corinthians 8

  1. Diona, thank you for contributing to this blog – just discovered last week.
    It is a blessing to know of young parents whose priority for their children’s education is the knowledge and love of God. This focus brings everything into order as He would desire for them in their relationship to Him and others. I look forward to following your posts.
    Fran

Leave a Reply

