Isaiah 36-37; Psalm 123; 1 Corinthians 10

It might not be a matter of conscience for you, but it is for the other person. For why should my freedom be limited by what someone else thinks? If I can thank God for the food and enjoy it, why should I be condemned for eating it? So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. Don’t give offense to Jews or Gentiles or the church of God. I, too, try to please everyone in everything I do. I don’t just do what is best for me; I do what is best for others so that many may be saved.” 1 Corinthians 10:29-33 NLT

Sometimes I waste too much time in the wondering of what I should be doing. And than I find myself STUCK. Unable to take the next step forward, knowing that God is with me and loves me no matter what. Maybe its because I forget that my identity is in him and not what I do. Though he has given me passions and gifts that he wants me to use for his glory and to bless others.  Even when I wonder and doubt, I am grateful for when he shows me direction when I ask. Hezekiah knew the work he should carry out and didn’t let the king persuade him. He went back to God and asked him for direction…

After Hezekiah received the letter from the messengers and read it, he went up to the Lord’s Temple and spread it out before the Lord. And Hezekiah prayed this prayer before the Lord: “O Lord of Heaven’s Armies, God of Israel, you are enthroned between the mighty cherubim! You alone are God of all the kingdoms of the earth. You alone created the heavens and the earth. Bend down, O Lord, and listen! Open your eyes, O Lord, and see!” Isaiah 37:14-17 NLT

These verses are a good reminder for this people pleaser, that its not about seeking the approval of others…but pointing others to Jesus. I need to stay humble and close to him, when loving others is tough. Because I know that I would be no where without him.

Dear Father, I pray that I would pursue peace and unity. So that my choices reflect your desires.  I don’t want to be a stumbling block.  Give me wisdom and discernment. Thank you for your love and mercy. To You be the Glory. Amen.

I lift my eyes to you, O God, enthroned in heaven. We keep looking to the Lord our God for his mercy, just as servants keep their eyes on their master, as a slave girl watches her mistress for the slightest signal. Have mercy on us, Lord, have mercy, for we have had our fill of contempt.” Psalm 123:1-3

 

Amy(amyctanner)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Isaiah 36-37; Psalm 123; 1 Corinthians 10

  1. gardnlady

    WOW–great post today Amy! I, too, am a people pleaser. I like the idea of Hezekiah laying his letter out before the Lord. Perhaps I need to do more of that myself while I am trying to make a decision.

  2. amyctanner

    Thanks Cindy, that verse really spoke to me too. As well as “…whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” It’s one that I’ve heard so many times, but God really shed new light on it this week.

Leave a Reply

