Isaiah 41-44; 1 Corinthians 12

The words reach out and pull me close. I feel safe. And that’s how it is, and how I must remind myself, when the world spins and my thoughts spin, it can all feel too much–but because of God, I have a safe place to go–to his word–and a safe place to rest: in him.

For I have chosen you
    and will not throw you away.
10 Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
    Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
    I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. Isaiah 41:9b-10, NLT

These readings in Isaiah speak of God’s power and his great love. A reminder through the ages and even today. He speaks and says, “I am.” And he states and says, “I will …”

His promises can be trusted.

The poor, deluded fool feeds on ashes.
    He trusts something that can’t help him at all.
Yet he cannot bring himself to ask,
    “Is this idol that I’m holding in my hand a lie?” Isaiah 44:20, NLT

What are things I hold in my hands thinking they have power? Is it a possession, an achievement, a feeling or a worry?

I don’t want to live deceived. An enemy wants me to put my trust in things I see and things I feel and deny the power of God (and the power of God in my life). God can help me make order of chaos, and find strength despite fear or discouragement. His hand is already victorious, and I can trust he knows what he’s doing.

Courtney (66books365)

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Isaiah, Uncategorized

One response to “Isaiah 41-44; 1 Corinthians 12

  1. I am right there with you.

Leave a Reply

