Isaiah 64-66; 2 Corinthians 2

My daughter and I baked cookies last night.  She’s been wanting to make Monster cookies … full of oatmeal, peanut butter, brown sugar, chocolate chips and M&Ms.  It was indeed a monster batch of cookies.

As the aroma filled the house, my teenage boys wondered upstairs, in search of the source of the smell.  “What smells so good?”

A little while later, my husband came home from a meeting.  “I smell something good,” he said, as his eyes scanned the kitchen, seeking out what he knew were fresh-baked cookies.  Like a magnate, the cookies drew him towards them.

“But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him.  For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.  To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life.  And who is equal to such a task?”  2 Corinthians 2:14-16

When I smell something delightful, I stop and savor the smell.

When an aroma is pleasing, I seek out its source.

Paul says that God spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of Christ through us.  We are the ones who spread the fragrance.  We are the aroma of Christ in the world.  Because of Christ and only Christ, we are the fragrance of life.

Dear Lord, You are the source of all that is sweet and fragrant.  Let me be a pleasing aroma to you.  Let me be a sweet smell that draws people towards Jesus.  I want to radiate such joy, peace and love, that it causes others to pause and search for the source.  Only you are equal to the task of producing such a fragrance through me.   

Diona

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Isaiah 64-66; 2 Corinthians 2

  1. Sara Winchester

    Neat perspective.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. gardnlady

    Love it! Me and my analogies love to think of being drawn to Jesus that way!

  3. We baked cookies on Friday. Shane came home and asked if we had because of your post! Maybe it got to me subconsciously. Love it!

Leave a Reply

