Nahum; Psalms 149; 2 Corinthians 4

We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves. We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed. Through suffering, our bodies continue to share in the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies.” 2 Corinthians 4:8-10 NLT

I have tiny clay pots lined up on my kitchen windowsill. They are all unique. But one has a chip in it, that makes it stand out from the rest. I was going to throw it away.  Than I decided to leave it there as a reminder, that sometimes I think I am the only flawed one. Instead of praising God for how he made me, I dwell on my weaknesses. When I look more closely at the other pots, I notice there are tiny chips in them as well. I think about how I want to hide my imperfections, instead of letting God work in and through them.

That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed day by day. For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 NLT

Maybe I am letting that tiny crack become the only thing I see, because I forgot that it makes me who I am. It is where Jesus can be seen in me. “God shows up in the cracks; His light comes through my dark, and we go in” InCourage Blog, by Sara Mae.

Even though the destroyer has destroyed Judah, the Lord will restore its honor. Israel’s vine has been stripped of branches, but he will restore its splendor.” Nahum 2:2NLT

With Jesus I am made whole. He is making me new.

For the Lord delights in his people; he crowns the humble with victory.” Psalms 149:4 NLT

Dear Father, thank you for your word. Thank you that for the restoration that you continue to do in my life. That those nagging imperfections, can be used for your glory. They don’t compare to what you have prepared. Help me to stay close to you. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians, Psalms

Leave a Reply

