2 Kings 22-23; Psalm 73; 2 Corinthians 5

23But I am always with you.

You have held my hand.

24You guide me with your advice.

And later you will receive me in honor.

25I have no one in heaven but you.

I want nothing on earth besides you.

26My mind and my body may become weak.

But God is my strength.

He is mine forever.

27Those who are far from God will die.

You destroy those who are unfaithful.

28But I am close to God, and that is good.

The Lord God is my protection.

I will tell all that you have done. Psalm 73:23-28

I’m going to be completely honest. I’m really struggling right now. My life is in a tough spot and the situation is less than ideal for our family. The physical and emotional toll that having our family separated and strewn across the world is frustrating and difficult for all of us.

On the surface, to the ones looking into the window of our life, the answers seem simple and no brainer. Without understanding the nuances of our circumstances, judgements are made, advice is given. The pressure of so many expectations and the stress of not living up to any of them has got me second guessing almost everything.

Except for God.

It doesn’t matter that I can’t see God with my natural eyes, I trust that He is there guiding my steps, holding me by the hand in the journey, in the ups and downs, in the struggle. He’s the still small voice that leads me in my walk, encouraging me to keep up the good fight no matter how difficult it is.

My mind and body feel weak, exhausted from not sleeping well for way too many nights in a row, having too much on my shoulders that drains the life out of me, and not experiencing enough moments of joy.

But God is my strength. He protects me. He provides for me, He gives me rest and peace.

The key is remembering, in the hard moments, to crawl up on His lap, nestle into His arms, and stay close to His heart.

Yesappa, I need a hug today. I need You extra close today. I need Your strength. I need Your love. I need Your grace. And, I need an extra measure of peace today. In Jesus’ name. Amen

 

Blessings – Julie

 

International Children’s Bible, Copyright © 2015 by Tommy Nelson™, a Division of Thomas Nelson, Inc. All rights reserved. Used by permission.

2 Comments

Filed under 2 Kings, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms

2 responses to “2 Kings 22-23; Psalm 73; 2 Corinthians 5

  1. Praying that you will be comforted today. I was chewing on John 14:16-17 this morning and then read your post and the Psalm. A picture came into my head of my Nana scurrying about looking for her glasses when all the while they were perched on her head. Thats how I am so often when I am wondering where God is in all my flurry of a world. Your post, Psalm 73 and the words of Jesus stop me and remind me that his Holy Spirit is right here in me. Forehead smack. I can breathe now. Thank you.

  2. gardnlady

    Meeting with my small group tonight and we will pray for supernatural strength to endure the load God has asked you to carry right now. Praying this season is coming close to being over. Reminds me of that song out now called “Thy Will Be Done” where she talks about how she was sure she heard God tell her to do something and wasn’t expecting the result. Thanks for sharing your struggle so we can help you.

Leave a Reply

