Habakkuk 2; 2 Corinthians 7

WE…the overwhelming pronoun used in 2 Corinthians is not “I”, it is “we.” 2 Corinthians is a letter written by a man who is in love with God and his community of fellow believers. This kind of love must have been a shock to the world. It’s the kind of love that one might expect from a close-knit family, but not from people who are unrelated. It would be reasonable to expect that the early Church would turn on each other and disband in the face of opposition and persecution.

Do I share this fierce love for my fellow believers or am I quick to pull away when things get difficult and avoid conflict? Paul leans in:

“Even if I caused you sorrow by my letter… yet now I am happy, not because you were made sorry, but because your sorrow led you to repentance.”  2 Corinthians 7:8-9

Somethings are simply worth fighting for. Human conflict is risky, but truth wins. Paul modeled what he described in his previous letter to the church at Corinth:

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”  1 Corinthians 13:4-8.

This is the very love God showers down on me everyday through the work of his son, Jesus. It’s more real than the breath in my lungs and the beat of my heart.

Holy Spirit, teach me to love like you do. Help me to lean in towards others and not pull away when difficulties arise. Help me to receive the truth as well as speak the truth in love. Give me a heart that is humble and willing to risk not being understood or loved in return. And relieve me of my  crazy need to be right. May your truth win in all my relationships. Amen

“For the earth will be filled with the knowledge of your the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea.” Habakkuk 2:14

Klueh

 

2 Comments

Filed under 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, 66 Books, Habakkuk, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Habakkuk 2; 2 Corinthians 7

  1. O, that we, as His church, would know the love that He has poured out upon us, in our hearts and lives, through the sacrifice of His Son. The word “propitiation” is one that we desperately need to understand. Thank you for your post. The Lord bless you and fill you more and more with His love.
    – Fran

  2. Janet

    A good friend and I were just talking about this kind of love. The kind of love that is not humanly possible for many reasons – our rights, our emotions, our physical needs, and other such barriers surface at the most unwanted times, reminding one of love’s limitations. Laying down my love is also nearly impossible. However, when that happens, this other love, God’s perfect love, floods my soul; and then there are no boundaries.

Leave a Reply

