Jeremiah 11-13; 2 Corinthians 12

Already, the shine of the new school year is wearing off.  I have poured so much of myself into my children over the last few weeks.

The late nights when my older children want to study with me or talk about life.  The early mornings when my younger ones are at their most enthusiastic.  The running them around to various activities.

And of course navigating the quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, arrogance and disorder.  The apostle Paul knew something about this.

Paul knew how it felt to be a parent who gives and gives to his children.  He was the spiritual parent to the believers in Corinth and wanted his spiritual children to mature in Christ.

“… I will not be a burden to you, because what I want is not your possessions but you.  After all, children should not have to save up for their parents, but parents for their children.  So I will very gladly spend for you everything I have and expend myself as well.  If I love you more, will you love me less?”  (2 Corinthians 12:14-15  emphasis mine)

Just as I want my own children to mature spiritually.  I give and give to them in this endeavor.  My prayers are full of their needs.  My personal reading time is mostly focused on becoming a better parent.

Although I may be a bit emptied out right now, I know that God promises to give me His Grace.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

And I surely am weak.

Dear God, I know you will provide everything I need when I need it.   I know that I am weak and your power enables me.  The spiritual maturity of my children matter to you.  You can accomplish what I cannot.  Help me to draw upon your grace each and every day. 

Diona

2 Comments

Filed under 2 Corinthians, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jeremiah 11-13; 2 Corinthians 12

  1. Diona, Thank you for sharing the desires of your heart. It is a joy to pray for young families. We have been there, and pray for the presence and power of the Lord that brings us through the wilderness with our children. As you bring them up in the “nurture and admonition of the Lord” you will be prepared to stand with them before our Heavenly Father. They and their children will “rise up and call you blessed.” The Lord bless you as you and your family mature in the Lord. – Fran

  2. Nothing to stop that prayer from reaching the heavens!!

Leave a Reply

