Jeremiah 17-20; James 1

When I speak, the words burst out. “Violence and destruction!” I shout. So these messages from the Lord have made me a household joke. But if I say I’ll never mention the Lord or speak his name, his word burns in my heart like a fire. It’s like a fire in my bones! I am worn out trying to hold it in! I can’t do it! I have heard the many rumors about me. They call me “The Man Who Lives in Terror.” They threaten, “If you say anything, we will report it.” Even my old friends are watching me, waiting for a fatal slip. “He will trap himself,” they say, “and then we will get our revenge on him.” But the Lord stands beside me like a great warrior. Before him my persecutors will stumble. They cannot defeat me.” Jeremiah 20:8-11 NLT

If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless. Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans ans widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” James 1:26&27 NLT

Both Jeremiah and James are speaking about their words. Though, Jeremiah’s words are being used against him. He is misunderstood. His enemies are waiting for him to mess up. James warns me against the same thing. To keep my speech in check, because the world is watching, The ones closest to me are watching too…

But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are fooling yourselves. For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in the mirror. You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what is says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.” James 1:22-24 NLT

I am so forgetful and need to be in his word everyday. It’s so easy to let the lies of this world creep in, instead of his promises.  I want his words to spill out so naturally, especially to my children… “As my children see me in the deep waters of life, being tested to my core and still holding on to my Lord and choosing to believe the best, this observation will prepare them for their own trials, which will surely come. They will know that he will guide and forgive them as they lead an imperfect but devoted life before a loving Father who has always met their mother’s needs!” (The Mission of Motherhood, by Sally Clarkson)

But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit.”Jeremiah 17:7&8NLT

Dear Father, I desire to run to your truth first. I am so richly blessed by it. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

4 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, James, Jeremiah

4 responses to “Jeremiah 17-20; James 1

  1. And “Mission of Motherhood”! Love it all. Good stuff, Amy!

  2. amyctanner

    Thanks for the book recommendation, Courtney ❤️

  3. Yes, and thanks for the words from the Lord reminding us He is our Warrior! Let His words flow.

  4. amyctanner

    Amen, Janet

Leave a Reply

