Ezekiel 10-12; Psalm 83; John 4

I am the Samaritan woman. I read the story about the woman Jesus met at the well and realized her story is my story.  One day, I went to the well because I was thirsty.  I was looking for that satisfaction, that quenching, that had eluded me throughout my life.  I had tried to fill it several times before in many different ways.

“Jesus, tired from the long walk, sat wearily beside the well about noontime.” He was waiting for me.  I knew it the minute I walked into that church.  Something was different this time.  I walked in and looked at the faces of all those people worshipping.  I knew whatever it was, THAT is what I was looking for.

15 “Please, sir,” the woman said, “give me this water! Then I’ll never be thirsty again, and I won’t have to come here to get water.”

16 “Go and get your husband,” Jesus told her.

17 “I don’t have a husband,” the woman replied.

Jesus said, “You’re right! You don’t have a husband— 18 for you have had five husbands, and you aren’t even married to the man you’re living with now. You certainly spoke the truth!”

I sat in that church service thinking of my life. I had been married and divorced twice and had jumped right into another relationship so fast it made my head spin.  We were all but living together.  At that point I didn’t know how else to fill up that emptiness that was inside of me.  The rejection ran so deep.  I thought that I needed someone in my life to give me value, to prove that I wasn’t a loser who deserved to be walked out on.  If only I found the right person, then I would be happy.  All the pain would go away.

“Please, sir, give me this water!” or I said something very similar and then Jesus offered me that living water.

14 But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.”

I met the great I Am that day. I did find the right Person!

26 Then Jesus told her, I am the Messiah!”[d]

28 The woman left her water jar beside the well and ran back to the village, telling everyone, 29 “Come and see a man who told me everything I ever did!

Once I met Jesus my life was changed. Who I was before that day is now part of the story I share to tell everyone how far He has brought me, how much He has changed my life.  I found value, significance, joy, and purpose beyond anything I could ever imagine.  Has life been hard since then?  Of course!  Do I still get thirsty?  Yes—but I know where to go for my living water when I feel that thirst coming on.  Jesus fills my life in ways I never imagined were possible.

42 Then they said to the woman, “Now we believe, not just because of what you told us, but because we have heard him ourselves. Now we know that he is indeed the Savior of the world.”

God has tasked me with telling my story. I hope when I do it encourages others to want to know Him more.  He has been so patient and taught me so much.  I want others to experience the freedom I have found through Him.

37 You know the saying, ‘One plants and another harvests.’ And it’s true. 38 I sent you to harvest where you didn’t plant; others had already done the work, and now you will get to gather the harvest.”

To me, telling my story or sharing something profound that He has taught me are ways of planting seeds. I can warn others of the pain they will encounter, I can share what happened in my life when I made bad choices, and I can point them to Jesus as a better way.  I want people to “hear Him themselves”.

The bible doesn’t tell us what happened to the woman after her encounter with Jesus but I bet she changed her life the way I changed mine. I could no longer live the way the world lives.  I knew there was a better way.  It didn’t happen overnight but there comes that point in time where you have to be all in, no turning back. I know He wanted better for me—and He made me want better for myself.  I hope someday I get to meet this woman.  I can picture us running to each other, embracing one another, and jumping up and down with joy because we “met a man who told me everything I ever did!

Thank you, Lord, for showing us a better way to live. Thank you, Lord, for giving us stories of people in the bible we can relate to.  They are not perfect people who always get life right and neither are we.  But You sent us a Savior, our beloved Redeemer, who came to give us living water. Through His love, He changes lives. Because of Him, my cup runneth over and never runs dry! In His name I pray, Amen.

Cindy (gardnlady)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, John, Uncategorized

One response to “Ezekiel 10-12; Psalm 83; John 4

  1. Cindy, I praise the Lord for giving you this living water of grace; that we can all witness to His great and mighty power for meeting us where we are and bringing us to the Father. The Lord bless your witness for Him. Fran

Leave a Reply

