Ezekial 40-42; John 14

I lived the greater part of my life as an unbeliever. I went to church, I believed everything I learned about Jesus, and even taught Sunday school.  All of that was head knowledge.  It took life pulling the rug out from under me, falling flat on my face, and finally looking up to truly understand who Jesus really is.

6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

While I know these verses mean accepting Jesus as our Savior and our only way to heaven, they mean so much more to me. I looked at each one separately and pondered on how it spoke to my heart.

The word “way” has several meanings: it can mean a direction to take (go that way) and it can also mean a manner of doing something (do it this way).  The narrow path Jesus offers us is not the most popular one to take but it holds the greatest freedom.  To me “I am the way” means I should follow him where He leads me and do things the way He wants me to do them.  I need to be looking to him for direction at all times.

“I am the . . . truth”. How would I have ever learned how to change without His truth?  For years I lived my life believing the lies of the world.  The world said I was rejected, not loved.  His truth said I love you with an unending love.  I will never leave you nor forsake you.  The world says do what makes you happy, put yourself first.  His truth says, true happiness comes when you put others first.  The world says the one with the most stuff wins.  His truth says, give!

“I am the . . . life.” He has broken strongholds in my life and given me freedom I never thought possible.  He said He came to give us abundant life.  He showed us we have a Father in heaven who loves us and wants to be part of our lives.  His death on the cross gives us eternal life.

15 If you love me you will obey what I command.

The more I learned about the way, the truth, and the life of Jesus, the more He became real to me instead of someone I read about in a book or heard someone else talk about. As my love for Him grew, the more I wanted to do what He “commanded.”  He first loved me–how could I not respond to Him in love?  I want to show Him how much I love Him by obeying.  Does that come easily to me?  Not in my own strength but with the Holy Spirit living in me I can.

16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be[c] in you.

Heavenly Father, we would be lost without Jesus. He is the way to You.  That Passover night, He took the time to comfort the disciples and try to prepare them for life without Him in their presence. He modeled sacrificial love like no one ever has. Your Holy Spirit resides in us today because He always did what You told Him to do.  At the end of this chapter He says, “come now, let us leave” knowing full well what was about to befall Him.  And we know they left singing praises to You!  May we do the same.  In His name I pray.

Cindy (gardnlady)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, John, New Testament, Uncategorized

One response to “Ezekial 40-42; John 14

  1. Kathy Guth

    Great blog, Cindy. I could hear you talk through this. Didn’t know you taught Sunday School.

Leave a Reply

