Ezekiel 46-48; John 16

At the end of the long day, my eyes closed with my finger still marking the last word on the page that I read.  The 500 page book a heavy, reassuring weight next to me.  As I drifted off, my thoughts were centered on the future.  The far distant future.  The time when Jesus reigns forever and I am with Him.

The one night has turned into many, which has now become a routine.  I am very slowly reading through the book “Heaven” by Randy Alcorn.  Very slowly as in only two or three pages a night.  Just enough for my mind to settle and rest on the promise of Heaven.  It may take me a year to finish the book, but that’s okay.  The point is not to finish it.  The point is to settle my thoughts on the joy of eternal life with Jesus.

I have found much peace in ending my day this way.  The Holy Spirit meets me in my contemplation, providing assurance, guiding my thoughts.

Today’s reading includes Ezekiel’s vision of the future – a new temple and a new world reminiscent of the Garden of Eden.

Ezekiel 47:12

Fruit trees of all kinds will grow on both banks of the river.  Their leaves will not wither, nor will their fruit fall.  Every month they will bear, because the water from the sanctuary flows to them.  Their fruit will serve for food and their leaves for healing.”

Ezekiel 48:35b

“And the name of the city from that time on will be:

THE LORD IS THERE.”

I do not know if Ezekiel’s vision is meant to be literal or symbolic.  What I do know is that God wants to restore us to perfect fellowship with Him.  A fellowship that lasts forever.

Dear Lord, I long for the beauty and peace of heaven.  I long for the richness of restored relationship with You, without influences from the fallen world.  Shape my heart so that my actions here in this life reflect your will.  May You be glorified forever.  Amen

Diona

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

