Daniel 4-6; John 18

I, Nebuchadnezzar, was living in my palace in comfort and prosperity. But one night I had a dream that frightened me; I saw visions that terrified me as I lay in bed. At last Daniel came in before me, and I told him the dream. “While I was lying in my bed, this is what I dreamed. I saw a large tree in the middle of the earth. The tree grew very tall and strong, reaching high into the heavens for all the world to see.” Daniel 4:4-11NLT

Just like I can lose sight of God’s hand in my life, the King had forgotten that it was God who built the city and not him. “As he looked out across the city, he said, ‘Look at this great city of Babylon! By my own mighty power, I have built this beautiful city as my royal residence to display my majestic splendor.” Daniel 4:30 NLT. The king was relying on his own strength. And even though he was professing the Lord with his mouth, his heart had turned prideful. God used this dream to humble the king and show him that He is in control.

God has used situations in my life to remind me that I am not in control and to draw me closer to him. Recently, I was worried and afraid. My husband asked me, “Did you pray about it?” It sounded so simple, but I had not. He prayed for me, and afterwards I felt a great sense of peace. Sometimes, I am apprehensive about being vulnerable, even with God. But, God is showing me, that can be a form of pride. Because, when I admit my weakness…it’s God’s power that is displayed in my life, not mine.

Daniel willingly went into the lion’s den. It didn’t mean that he wasn’t afraid, but he trusted his Father to take care of him. Do I?

Very early the next morning, the king got up and hurried to the lions’ den. When he got there, he called out in anguish, “Daniel, servant of the living God! Was your God, whom you serve so faithfully, able to rescue you from the lions?” Daniel answered, “Long live the king! My God sent his angel to shut the lions mouth so that they would not hurt me, for I have been found innocent in his sight. And I have not wronged you, Your majesty.” Daniel 6:20&21 NLT

Dear Father,  Forgive me when pride creeps in. Because, you have given me everything that I have, my very life. I pray that I would use it to further your Kingdom and not my own. Thank you for Jesus, who is the greatest example of humility. Amen.

Jesus answered, “My Kingdom is not an earthy kingdom. If it were, my followers would fight to keep me from being handed over to the Jewish leaders. But my Kingdom is not of this world. Pilate said, “So you are a king?” Jesus responded, “You say I am a king. Actually, I was born and came into the world to testify to the truth. All who love the truth recognize that what I say is true” John 18:36&37 NLT

Amy(amyctanner)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Daniel, John

2 responses to “Daniel 4-6; John 18

  1. Thank you, Amy ~ a very meaningful post for this time in our history.

  2. kateredding

    I literally whispered these words last night. Why am I so hesitant to pray? I know he’s in control and i know he loves me but all yoo often, i try to handle situations in my own and end up sick with worry. Thank you for your words this morning.

Leave a Reply

