Zechariah 2-5; Psalm 93; 1 John 3

 See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears,[a] we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.

When was the last time you felt God lavish His love on you? There is just something so special when you realize that you’ve been lavished upon.  Even the word, lavish, sounds opulent!   I have gone to a spa before where I was wrapped in a warm, fluffy robe, given something sparkly to drink, and had everything from my head to my feet massaged.  I felt lavished upon!  Having my grandchildren come running to give me big hugs when they see me makes me feel lavished upon. I looked it up to see what the dictionary had to say about the word.  Lavish means “bestow something in generous or extravagant quantities upon.”

I have felt lavished upon when I stand in awe of a spectacular sunset or view a double rainbow in the sky. To me, God’s creative works in nature—from the gentle waves breaking on the beach to the wind rustling through the trees in the mountains–shows his love for us.  Hearing the birds sing first thing in the morning reminds me of God’s great love.  Just yesterday I had a bad day.  Do you ever have those days when you think you add no value to this planet whatsoever and you’re just taking up space?  I have them once in a while.  I was talking to God about this when I was driving home from work only to be interrupted by a very dear friend calling me on the phone just to talk (bluetooth of course).  When I got home and brought in the mail, there was a sweet note of encouragement from a leader thanking me for serving the ladies in my small group.  And, I got a precious card from my sister which meant the world to me.  I felt the great love of God lavished upon me!  He wanted me to know His great love!

We are His children and He loves us. In fact, He loves us so much He sent His Son Jesus to earth so we would not be separated from Him.  16 This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.  THAT is lavish love!  Jesus willingly became human and paid the ultimate price for our sins.  He died a criminal’s death on a cross so we could have everlasting life.  We know that Jesus will come again and that when He appears, we shall be like Him (v2) “for we shall see him as he is.” Anything else we are given in this life is a bonus!

Father, I thank you for loving us so very much. Thank you for calling us your children!  Some of us have children and would do anything for them.  You were willing to give us your Son!  You lavished us with His presence.  He brought light into this dark world.  He taught us how to love by example.  He died, taking all our sins upon himself, so that one day, when He returns, we will be like Him.  I can’t even imagine the depth of the love that took.  May we praise Your holy name forever as we are lavished by such great love!  In Jesus holy name I pray.  Amen.

Cindy (gardnlady)

3 Comments

Filed under 1 John, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Zechariah 2-5; Psalm 93; 1 John 3

  1. Kathy Guth

    Another great sixty-six books in a year blog. This one of your gifts; keep using it to bless others. It sure did me today. I am going to ponder the word “lavish” and she if I recognize it when it is bestowed on me. Love you.

  2. I feel even more loved after reading this. Thank you! Your post isends me into Thanksgiving will a full heart!

  3. Your thoughts on God’s overflowing, abundant love toward us reminded me that God meets us where we are, blessing us with intimacy and His favor. Truly there is no one like our God!

Leave a Reply

